Mallard to visit Germany

Locomotive legend No. 4468 Mallard is set to herald a new era of international partnership by becoming the star attraction in an exhibition to mark the 75th anniversary of Germany’s short ownership of the world- speed crown.

 From July to October the mighty blue record-breaker will be on display at the DB Museum in Nuremberg alongside the Deutsche Reichsbahn 4-6-4 steam locomotive No 05002 which achieved 124mph in 1936.

 Mallard stole No 05 002’s thunder just two years later in July 1938, on the stretch of track at Little Bytham near Grantham and the British-built locomotive is still the holder of the world speed record for steam traction at 126mph.

 The streamlined A4 designed by Sir Nigel Gresley is destined to return to British soil after the exhibition and will be returning to the National Railway Museum in York to take up its place in the Museum’s Great Hall.

 Director of the National Railway Museum Steve Davies said: “We’re very excited that Mallard is going to fly the flag for British engineering in Germany, at an event run by our international partner, the DB Museum. It should be a fascinating journey –Mallard will leave her current home, the National Railway Museum in Shildon by road, and then will travel by ship to a German port. Once there, she will travel along the tracks hauled by a DB locomotive, accompanied by the National Railway Museum’s expert engineers and observed by hundreds of rail fans.”

 Steve continued: “This is a definite ‘Auf Wiedersehen’, not goodbye, Mallard is too important a lynch pin in the story of the railways told at the National Railway Museum and a British national icon. After wowing a European audience for a short time, she will be returning home to York in November to take up her place in our Hall of railway greats.”

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

© Copyright - - Articles and Images by Rail Media are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.